Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Get-Away!

Thank you for all of your nice words on my blip yesterday.  I appreciated them.

This little Harris's Antelope Squirrel was quick on his feet as he scampered through the yard looking for beavertail cactus tuna on the ground (fallen fruit).  I don't know if it was the same squirrel, but I had a regular visitor last year until the food source was depleted.

I think he may come around some more since there is potential for more fruit to fall this year.  When the flowers die on the cactus the base from which they bloomed grows into an oblong red fruit which contains pulp and seeds. After a while, the fruit withers, dries and falls off the cactus.  Some animals, including an occasional bird if the tuna has been cracked open, will eat the seeds and dried pulp. 

I don't know how this squirrel knows it's time to explore my yard because I might have only a few things for him to eat, especially compared to the larger cactus he might find in the area or in the desert right across the street.  But, of course, he's welcome.  I just wish he would slow down enough for me to get a really cute "photo in focus  for 'foto."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.