youngies journey

By youngie66

Childhood Memories

This is a shot of the prettiest station on the Fife Circle called Aberdour as you can see in the title childhood memories as a young boy even at the age of ten I would get my pocket money from my parents at the weekend and as I was train daft I would head to Edinburgh Waverly station and buy a return ticket to different destinations that were not overly far away well as a kid they seemed like miles but I would only go on the old DMU trains which meant I could sit behind the driver and peer through the glass and watch them drive and the very first time I travelled on my own was to Aberdour they were all great memories I don't think many ten year old's would get away with it now a days but when I would get home my dad would ask what I had been up to and I was always brought up to tell the truth so I would put my hand in my pocket slightly pull out the ticket to flash at my dad he would say where the bloody hell have you been and he would wrestle me for the ticket he always won but he would see the pleasure and fear in my eyes but because I never told him lies I would always get my lecture but I can never ever remember being punished for it as I think that as I always owned up to it he was just happy I was home safely and he would always sit down with me to watch Casey Jones after all those years I know how proud he was that I achieved my goal of becoming a Train Driver and I would always say to anyone about there dreams to follow them and give it your best shot as I can honestly say there has never been a day in my life as a driver that I have turned up for work without a smile on my face and still feel like that ten year old kid to this day :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.