Ulpha Park

Tony and I have spent the day in the Lake District in the Duddon Valley.  After the International Orienteering Event at Easter, Tony took photos of some of the areas which had heavy runner traffic in order to assess the impact of the competition on the woodland.  Today we returned so that he could do a comparison and he will make one final visit in September before writing his report.  In many places there is already total recovery with wild garlic, bluebells and a host of other wildflowers and grasses carpeting the woodland floor.  It is a very pretty place.  My blip is of a particularly lovely patch of bluebells and stitchwort.

I thank arroset for drawing my attention to this lovely book which I bought a couple of days ago.  Blippers often say that taking a blip each day has made them see the world in more depth and detail, well this book has the same impact through the power of words.  There were several points in the morning where Tony took a detour to check out a site and, whilst I waited,  I sat still and just listened and watched the woodland. 

Gill, one of the organisers of the event at Easter, had invited us for lunch when we had finished and we had a very pleasant couple of hours at her cottage before heading home in the rain!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.