Teaching Junior

I've had an interesting start to the day.  On my way back from Bingley through St Ives I met a woman who had spotted two young calves on the estate road.  Somehow they had managed to get out from their field through the dog stile!  Luckily I knew the farmer's father so rang Tony to get hold of him whilst the woman, her daughter and I tried to prevent the calves from straying any further.  There was a fair bit of running up and down the road and attempts to corral them till finally we surrounded them back at the stile and, amazingly, they did fit back through the dog stile!  At this point Robert and his dad arrived, quite surprised to find where the calves had managed to exit.

Julian dropped me off at home and it was then I heard these starlings in the elder tree, the parent teaching the youngster how to use the suet feeder.  Junior struggled to hold on to the cage and used dad as a rest!

If you want to see the starling story see here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.