Abundant

Bright and beautiful but a fierce wind coming from the north west. Yet more work in the garden - an attempt at sorting out the fruit cages which are over run with bracken, brambles and goat willow saplings. Fortunately the blueberries are pretty hardy. Paths too seem to have disappeared under masses of lush undergrowth - ah well.

We went out for a walk on a headland and I considered swimming but there was a refusal. Instead we walked and marvelled at the sheer amount of wildflowers. This headland is worked and maintained and used as a pasture for cattle and for silage. The margins though host a fantastic array of wild beauty. This is what I can identify though I'm willing to stand corrected:
From the top left:
Broadleaved marsh orchid (?); lady's smock; common milkwort; germander speedwell;
from bottom left: mouse ear hawkweed; a little blue butterfly; pink clover, birds foot trefoil and yellow rattle.
Today's extra pic is a more boggy collage! And it wasn't just me enraptured.

A bank holiday here this weekend. Tickets go on sale for the annual quiz night hosted by Graham Norton in August. It is usually a riot. The cabin opens at 11am - how many hours ahead should I be there? Maybe I need to camp out overnight?  I suspect I shall be lucky for the demand is mighty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.