Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

North Ridge of Tryfan

An emotional day in so many ways.

It started early as I made my way through mid Wales to Snowdonia, a few tears along the way as memories came flooding back.  Not going to lie I thought I was getting there, but it still hurts like hell.

Arrive in Snowdonia I met my guide, Graham Uney in the mountain café Moel Siabod, a quick cuppa and a chat and then we were off to tackle the mighty Tryfan Mountain.  Tryfan is one of the most famous peaks in Snowdonia, not one of the highest but with its rocky peak it provides some good scrambling activity as opposed to a gentle mountain walk.

Graham gave me a few choices of ascending the mountain, I decide to go with the North Ridge.  Scrambling is where you have to use your hands as well as your feet to climb, I’ve done a bit on Hellvellyn a couple of years ago so was keen to take on more.  Graham certainly gave it to me, as we took on a hard route up the North Ridge, and in some areas because of the danger I had to be roped to ensure I didn’t fall.  There was one particular area which meant I had to climb a tight overhang, it was interesting and my life was in Graham’s hands.  A bit overdramatic but it felt like there was only way to go, and that was up.

This was the great thing about the day, Graham had confidence in me to tackle a harder route and push me.  The feeling I got after completing the ascent to the summit was amazing, I was buzzing.  After reaching the summit we then did a full traverse around the mountain, coming down the heather terrace.  In total we were walking/scrambling for six and a half hours.

An epic day!

This is the North Ridge of Tryfan.

The following day someone was killed on Tryfan, this is a dangerous mountain so please take care when you're on it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.