Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Blue Waters of the Rangitata

I'm still feeling a bit meh thanks to the headcold, so today's challenge was to get a blip in a location that was close by, not too early in the morning, not late at night.

On my way to the store to get some milk, I decided to turn left at the end of the road, heading up the gorge road rather than down to the village. Parking up at the Lynn Stream bridge (I've been here recently), I then walked down the stream until I reached the noisy waters of the Rangitata.

The river at this point is a lot less braided than it is above the gorge or further down stream, and because of this has a powerful flow. Taking astro photos in Peel Forest and Blandswood, you can hear the sound of the river cut through the night,  rumbling like a huge aquatic motorway. It's a hypnotic sound, quite different from breaking waves. It's the sound of the linear power of nature.

This shot here was taken with a circular polariser to cut through the glare and boost the colours.I also used the X100S's in-built 3-stop ND filter to help slow the shutter, giving this turbulent water a more gentle softer appearance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.