A Luminous Light at the Pond

Dear Diary,

Now that the black flies are gone I ventured out to the pond and was rewarded by a particularly luminous light on the gently rippled water.  Everything shimmered.  The perfect blue sky and warm, not hot, temperatures made this moment even more special.  I sat on the bank listening to the birdsong for quite some time.

"Wouldn't it be wonderful if each day was like this," I thought.  But then I realized that my appreciation of this moment was due in large part to the contrast with the "not so perfect moments". It is a matter of balance and a matter of appreciating each day equally.  It is the same water no matter the circumstance...it reflects what comes its way and takes it all in letting it become part of what it is.  We should do the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.