A Garden All A-Buzz!

Dear Diary,

Well, here it is...the first bee portrait of 2015.  I don't know why I am so impassioned about photographing these busy little guys but there it is.  They fascinate me.  This one, already heavily laden with pollen sacks, moves from blossom to blossom on the Baptisia (wild blue indigo) which has just bloomed.  We are expecting, praying for, three days of fairly steady rain so perhaps he felt a special urgency.

The tree peony is blooming too and I added an extra photo of its center alive with several bees.  They know the window of opportunity is small with these flowers...they bloom so briefly.  Since I retired 5 years ago (and where did that time go??) I have lost that sense of urgency.  My days flow slowly and things get done but taking an afternoon off to just sit on the porch with my latest book, The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd is fine with me.  My favorite book by this author is The Secret Life of Bees...hmmm, is this the root of my bee fixation?  Well, I've said it before, you are what you read!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.