pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Guides, camping and outdoor cooking

I woke quite early - I'm not used to someone being in my bed! Especially one who steals all the duvet...

I got up and made us a cup of tea (on the promise that he will do it tomorrow) and fed the various animals. I collected Friday's eggs as it had been too wet to venture down the garden yesterday!

Once up, we had breakfast together and at 9.30 I got in the car for a slowish drive to Newmarket. I got to the Jarman Centre, an excellent centre incorporating camp sites and woodland, for all the guides in the region. 1st and 2nd Linton Guides were spending the weekend there for a 'Survival' themed camp. As Jon spends a lot of time at the Jarman Centre teaching bushcraft and archery, it made a change for me to visit.

My old guiding colleagues were pleased to see me, and so were the girls, which was nice. A couple of girls even asked me if I'd finished writing my book yet! I had to confess that it is not yet complete - but that they would be the first to review it once it was! So another thing to add to my list of jobs to do....sewing...writing...poetry...jewellery

When I arrived they were just starting to light their fires, ready to cook lunch (toasted cheese sandwiches, followed by baked bananas & chocolate) I love making the fires. The girls seemed to be doing well & before long, as you can see from this photo, their sandwiches were toasting. I spent a bit over 4 and a half hours with them, following the activities they had organised and taking photos. It was a perfect guide camp day. Shame they go home tomorrow. I just hope the weather stays dry to get the tents down. I've added a few more pictures - I can't put any with the guides in, but these give you a feel for the day!

I arrived back home at just after 6pm, tired but happy! Jon cooked tea, and after a short rest we went for a walk around the village; I had seen someone had a hosta for sale outside their house. It was a perfect evening for a quiet stroll. I bought the hosta - the best value plants are always at the end of the drive with instructions to leave the money in a box! I might do that with my spare courgette plants.

Back home and 2 kids have disappeared to their rooms - Dan is still sitting with us - I hope it is because he wants to, but it may be because he doesn't have a room!

9pm....so I think we will settle down in front of the tv with a film and a bottle of something!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.