Christmas in May!

This evening I babysat for my neighbours across the road.  Joseph was home alone as his big sister was elsewhere on a sleepover.  He taught me a really fun game - the Guess Who game.  I enjoyed it very much even though he beat me 2 times out of 3.  Since we had more time before bedtime I suggested a story and Joseph selected a book that I had given them for Christmas a couple of years ago.  Who said you can't have Christmas stories in May?  I was very impressed with Joseph's reading skills and I loved having this story read to me again - if you've never come across this book - Santa's Favorite Story:  Santa Tells the Story of the First Christmas - I highly recommend it. It's always good to hear the REAL meaning of Christmas - any time of year!

The reason that Dolly looks so nervous is that there is a cat in this household.  Not just any cat, but 'Claude the cat who slapped Dolly across the face a few years ago'!  Like an elephant, Dolly never forgets!  Which makes the rest of the evening a rather amazing story!

After Joseph went to bed, I snuggled down on the sofa with a blanket over me and Dolly on my lap and watched a programme on TV.  After that finished I started dozing and soon Claude jumped right up on my lap as well.  Dolly did NOT like that!  Shaking, she clung to me and kept her distance, but after a while relaxed a little bit.  I dozed some more and when I woke up Dolly and Claude were both asleep on my lap, but looking like they were getting closer to each other.  I was amazed!  I dozed yet again, and when I woke up I was shocked!  There was Dolly, fast asleep, with paw stretched out over Claude!  (see the extra photo)  At one point Claude woke up, noticed that he had a dog paw on him, sniffed it closely and then promptly fell back to sleep.  We were all cuddled up together, all in and out of sleep for a couple of hours.  

I wonder how they will react toward one another next time I visit?  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.