Predator and prey...

This morning was sunny, but so cold for the first of June! Despite the chilly breeze, Pete and I headed out fairly early to Maxey Quarry nature reserve, where he's been asked to carry out an invertebrate survey, more to familiarise ourselves with the site than to catch many insects. 

On the way back to the car, just as the rain started, I spotted this red kite flying low overhead, and despite the miserable light, snatched a quick shot. It wasn't until I got the image on the screen that I noticed a bit of black fluff around it beak. 

I then noticed there were two pairs of feet - the kite was carrying off a baby moorhen or coot, presumably back to its chicks. It always gives me a thrill when a photograph reveals something that  would otherwise go unobserved. 

Red kites are normally carrion feeders, but will also take small mammals, earthworms and other invertebrates and occasionally prey on smaller birds, especially nestlings. I assume this one must have been snatched from the water, something I know marsh harriers do, but not a behaviour I associate with kites.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.