If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Caraboat.

Being Saturday somebody had to deal with getting the LOdge ready for the next guests.  It was cheaper for me to drive back and do things myself than have a cleaner.  It also gave me the chance to pop in and check Ali was OK.  So I was off the show ground well before the public started to arrive.

After sorting things out at the Lodge I made my way back to the showtiming my arrival for the end of the day to avoid having to get through crowds with the car.  Between closing and our evening meal we had a walk down to the Lancaster canal which is at the bottom of the show ground.  This part of the canal was cut off from the main part when the M6 was built in the late 60s.  However there is a thriving restoration society.  Another 250 yards has just been rewatered and to coincide with this the Wilderness Trail Boat Club had arranged to have their annual get together on the canal.  This is possible because they can all arrive by road and be launched at a slipway.

Among the boats there (all "dressed overall" for the occasion) was this little gem.  It is a Caraboat it can be used as either a caravan or a boat.  These are now incredibly rare buiilt in the early 70s only 64 were ever built, the number surviving is well less than 50 now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.