Today's Special

By Connections

Tiny Tuesday Damselfly

One of the things I love most about blipping is how educational it is! This tiny creature---about 1.5 inches/38mm long---has been on the window screen outside our kitchen for several days now. I was about to describe this insect as a small dragonfly, but wanted to confirm that first. 

After a few minutes of online research, I learned that it was a damselfly, as "dragonflies do not have hinges enabling them to fold their wings together when resting, though damselflies do." (ucmp.berkeley.edu)

So here is my first entry for the TinyTuesday challenge, following on the heels of the highly successful MayMacroMayhem challenge! Do take a look at WalkingWombat's lovely journal entry today, which provides a fascinating and comprehensive overview of the challenge. Nearly 900 entries were posted by 141 blippers, with more than 300 of those entries posted last week!

I'm delighted that my local strawberries were selected for one of WalkingWombat's "Picks of the Week," in the "Beyond Beautiful of the Week" category, and look forward to participating in the new "TinyTuesday" challenge.

And now I'm longing for a dedicated macro lens for my camera, of course... something else to save for!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.