DETERMINED OF SWINDON!

After I had been out for coffee with my friend, Linda, yesterday, I went into a shop called Run, almost next door to the coffee shop, to ask about some decent trainers because I am determined to get fit.

Liam, who served me, brought out some very snazzy ones and then spent sometime watching me walk in them and remarked that after a knee procedure, I was walking very well.  I told him I had been diligent in doing my exercises and I think he was quite impressed!

He then brought out another pair, which were not quite so snazzy, but when I walked in them, he felt that they were better and supported my feet better, so I decided to buy them.  I think it is the first time I have ever bought anything without asking the price!

I am now getting used to them around the house and will be wearing them when I go out with my friend, Caroline, later.

Another friend has let me have an exercise bike that she didn't use, so what with that and walking, I hope to be super-fit before too long.  We have put the bike in our conservatory, so that I can look out on the garden while I exercise and of course, I will be able to keep an eye on Mr. HCB!

I am thinking of three Blip friends today - Karen, who goes swimming in the sea - well a hydrotherapy pool is considerably warmer and not quite like that, but that will do me later this afternoon;  Kate, who rides for miles on her bike - I know I will never quite keep up with her, but I will have a good go;  and Paula, who bravely ran a marathon a few weeks ago, and who told me that  friend of hers also ran a marathon after having the same procedure as me.  I couldn't run a marathon before so if I can run one very soon, I will be "over the moon"!  

You are my inspiration, ladies - I hope that by my efforts, I can inspire someone else.

As for us, 
we have this large crowd of witnesses around us. 
So then, let us rid ourselves of everything 
that gets in the way, 
and of the sin which holds on to us so tightly, 
and let us run with determination 
the race that lies before us.  
Let us keep our eyes fixed on Jesus, 
on whom our faith depends 
from beginning to end.
Hebrews 12 : 1-2

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.