Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Weston-super-'Night'-Mare !

Weston-super-Mare is a seaside resort, town and civil parish in Somerset, England. It is located on the Bristol Channel coast, 18 miles south west of Bristol, spanning the coast between the bounding high ground of Worlebury Hill and Bleadon Hill.


Weston-super-'Nightmare' is cockney rhyming slang for such a thing as 'It was a right Weston-super-Mare I can tell you!"  It is also the title of a weekly show on talkSPORT radio where they list all the sport howlers of the week.

Well, the day started off a right 'Weston', I can tell you! My son had the day off work and wasn't using his electronic TAG for the Severn Bridge tolls, which would save me £6.50 on crossing. He pays a set amount each month (£115). To get to his house, the quickest route is over the mountain, but it's a bendy road and often, mostly on a single track lane.


I was driving slowly, with a car behind me, not in any rush, when a motorbike came speedily towards me in the opposite direction. He was pretty central in the road and swerved a bit to avoid me. I beeped my horn and carried on. On glancing in my rear mirror, he'd turned his bike around and was after me! I stopped and got out of my car. He jumped off his bike, shouting and swearing, taking off his helmet and heavy security chain he had over his shoulder to lock the bike. He came towards me and I feared I was going to be assaulted. He threw a punch and I put him on his backside, but he quickly got up and came at me again. He was 'foaming' at the mouth accusing me of going too fast. I said, if he wasn't happy, phone the police as the whole thing was recorded. This didn't calm him, nor did the words from the man in the car behind. I decided to go before he had another go, so told him to grab my car number and report it, and drove off.


I collected the TAG from my son and on coming home I downloaded the in car video of the incident which I will obviously keep should he wish to report it. He was in his mid twenties and obviously having a bad day.


The wife got home from the hairdressers and by mid-day we headed off over the Severn Bridge........to Weston-Super-Mare!!!  It must be nearly 25 years since I was there last and couldn't remember it. We managed to park the car just out of town to avoid the pricey car parks and had a walk around for an hour. The photo I like of Weston is of Birnbeck pier - closed to the public. It looks like there's been a fire and is still in a state. Derelict. It's a shame as it looks like it was really nice at one time with even a lifeboat station. Weston seemed very nice as well.


At 5pm we met my daughter at a local Newport Inn. She was in Newport from Southampton on a business meeting, and one of the son's also came along - so a nice end to a Weston-super-Nightmare day!

   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.