Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Moon & Museum

Whilst most people were in or going to bed I was sorting out my gear for a couple of hours night time shooting. It was a nice clear night with a full moon so not the best to get any starry images in or around a city. The tide was half way out, so also not the best for river reflections.

I drove to the nearby village of Caerleon (famous for it's Roman city and ampitheatre) which is quite quaint. It was pretty quiet and I took a few pictures around the village. The one I like best wasn't one I expected to use as a blip photo - it was just a casual picture I took as I walked past the front of the National Roman Legionary Museum in High Street. I like the lines, reflections (can you see me?) and the moon above the house which echoes the light on the pedestrian crossing.

Caerleon was one of only three fortresses in Roman Britian (Chester and York are the others) and they called it Isca (built 75AD) and occupied for 200 years. 

The museum was built between 1985/6 when I was working the area. I remember going to an alarm call at a large detached house that lay within the old Roman walled town. The elderly lady had a large display case in her living room with Roman coins and items they had found whilst gardening.

As with all museums in Wales, it's free entry as is the nearby Roman baths and ampitheatre. Trouble is, at 1am it's shut - but at least I entertained myself.

It's not in the EXIF but the lens is a 15mm Leica Mount  Voigtlander F4.5 (on a VM-E close-focus adapter) and focused at infinity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.