Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Quintessentially English

I was up early for some jobs in Cardiff and Chepstow, before heading home late morning gasping for a cuppa. As I was waiting at traffic lights in Newport I saw my best mate, who's quite wealthy, coming out of a charity shop with some shorts. He quickly explained they are for holiday next week when they are one of two sets of friends joining us. I look forward to seeing them! (the shorts!!!)

I decided on a drive to Duffryn House, a National Trust property just outside Cardiff (St Nicholas), for a look around. It was quite busy so I'll go back when it's quiter. The Blip picture is of a player playing the quinessentially english game of croquet (in Wales!) on the rear lawn of the house. Quite a fitting place to play it. I love the birds which flew past as I was framing the photograph.

Duffryn estate dates back to 640AD and there have been houses there since. The present house was finished in 1894 and has about 55 acres. The National Trust have it on a 50 year lease since 2013. It has been restored with an £8million grant (£6.15 million from Lottery funding). It still needs further work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.