The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Little apples

...growing on the tree in the grounds, the blossom of which I blipped a few weeks ago. So glad we still have bees to keep the life cycles going. I shall keep an eye on this ordinary-but-beautiful tree, which I pass every day.

One of the parents told me today that she saw three of the six cygnets in Stratford park being rounded up and taken away in a box, in a van. I blipped the cygnets (badly) a week or two ago. This was probably not a swan-napping, but conservation in action. I wonder where they are taken: is it to the Queen's table, or to another lake where there is swan shortage? Hmmm, unlikely. This does explain, however, why the numbers of swans suddenly decreases every year.

And so to bed, to read. Still Bread Alone, by Judith Hendricks. I didn't make any sourdough starter or bread this evening, as by the time I'd cooked dinner it felt too late to be unpacking new packets of G-F flour. and leaving things to prove for hours. The weekend will be a better time for baking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.