High point of today's photowalk: A funny story

A perfect day weather wise, warm and sunny with beautiful blue skies...so I set out for my daily photowalk. Unfortunately the birds were so busy building nests, finding food for their nestlings, and carrying it t0-and-fro, that they didn't have much time for photo opps. I did see an oriole with a bright orange breast, but he flashed by me several times without pausing long enough to have his portrait taken. The photo pickings were slim, and I was headed back to my car when I was hailed by a trio of men gathered around a picnic table near the parking lot.

"Hey, come over here. We've got a camera to0," a voice said. I looked their way and noted that there was, indeed, a camera (a Nikon) sitting on the picnic table, so I headed their direction, and I'm glad I did. After a little talk about photography (digital vs film), we introduced ourselves, and I handed out my "blip cards". One of them wanted to know if I was Skip, so I explained that it is my nickname, given to me many years ago (over 50 actually) by my husband. A couple of them volunteered their nicknames, which made me laugh and admit that I could certainly put their picture on my website, but couldn't print those nicknames.

So the big question, posed by Tom, the man in the middle, was, "Why don't you take our picture?" That was obviously no problem. Then like all of us, they wanted to see the picture in my LCD screen, which elicited more laughter and a few comments along the line of, "I really need to lose weight" My response to that was, "Don't we all?" From left to right, these delightful men who lifted my spirits this morning, are Pete, Tom, and Bob. Thanks, fellows, for the conversation, the laughter, and the photo opp.

Carolyn aka Skip

P.S. When I got home, I showed the picture to Bob and asked if he had ever seen these men in the park. He recognized a couple of them and commented that one of them may know our friend Terry Daniels, the former heavyweight boxer I blipped several months ago. What is that saying about "a small world" ? It certainly is a small world and a good one too, when I can take my camera to the park on a beautiful morning, and meet three very interesting gentlemen characters. Hopefully I will run into them again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.