Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Scoping Out The Yard

Mister and Missus Gambel's Quail were watching the action in the backyard.  The were several thrashers poking around looking for seeds.  A Gila woodpecker, a couple of finches and even a hummingbird or two were scrambling around, trying to be the next bird to get to drink from the hummingbird feeder. 

I wonder if it would do any good to put a sign on the hummingbird feeder saying, "We don't serve non-hummer species?" Some bird would probably file a Supreme Court brief claiming a Civil Rights violation.  I could say I object to them based on my religious beliefs.   Corporations and State governments seem to be able to get away with that one.
[My little political, social and moral soapbox rant.  Done - for a while.]

Poor birds just wanted to hop down and cross the yard.  At least they made the motion to do that a couple of times.  Instead, they ran around the length of the wall to get to what we believe is their nest in Elaine's yard. 

Try this one in Full Screen.

I've only been able to pop up for a minute at a time to take any photos.  I am down with a pretty bad case of acute bronchitis.  I went to the Urgent Care Center on Tuesday and will be seeing someone in my primary care's office on Friday.  I just had this in February.  I can't keep getting sick like this, not when someone else depends on me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.