Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Some Privacy, Please!

It's not just those little birds who want to cool off when it's 100ºF.  I started clicking when I saw the tail feathers of this Curve-billed thrasher fanned.  I thought that was pretty unique.  Then I wondered out loud, to no one there, of course, if it had it's legs and claws in the water.  I was too far away to know for sure. 

When I saw the photos I was a little startled, though I don't know why.  I guess I think of the thrashers as the "enforcers" of the yard...always to be remembered like this one and not like the playful little finches who roll around in the refreshing dish.

Then again, it just stood there, moved its head slightly then climbed out.  Not much playfulness there.  Just enough, I suppose, to cool the jets a few degrees before taking off again.

Extra: See it out of the water watching itself drip, as if it doesn't know what's happening

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.