Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Giant Saguaro Flowers

Five flowers.  I thought I should take my shot today because I don't have a habit of looking up, and although there are at least seventeen more buds left to go, I might miss a 'bunched' multi-bloom opportunity.

The flowers look delicate with their pale yellow center.  These flowers are night bloomers and stay open through the late morning.  The buds grow only on the east facing side of the saguaro.  Just a guess, but they have to be the largest buds on any plant most of us have seen.

Saguaro cactus are native only in my neck of the woods, the Sonoran Desert in southern Arizona - not even in all parts of Arizona, like you might imagine.  They are a protected species.  It is illegal to move or remove a saguaro without permission of a State agency.

EDIT:  FOR CONTEXT...These flowers are at the top of this saguaro.

It's been 103ºF/39ºC or higher for each of the past three days.  We went from an unseasonably cool (85ºF/26ºC) May to mid-June temps.  The humidity today was only 8%.  It's already time for me to trade in my skin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.