Bee doing what bees do

Dear Diary,

The Honey Locust trees are in full bloom and they are alive with bees!  I went out onto my upper deck so I could be at eye level with them.  The scent is amazing and the buzzing sound was quite loud.  Because the flowers hang in clusters Mr. Bumble had to hang upside down to access the pollen.  Not a problem.

This is the time of year that I love to sit out on the upper deck but because it is being reconstructed it is a little unsafe so I had to make this photo and go back in.  A sad bit of news too.  Moma and Popa Robin have abandoned the nest.  I can't tell if a predator raided the eggs or not but there has been no nest sitting for days.  They are still hopping about the yard so I suspect they have built a new nest and will try again.  This is quite common.  I'll miss seeing the baby robins.  I think I'll get a ladder out today and check out the old nest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.