Black-capped Chickadee

I'm sure that many of you have seen some of the decorative signs that are out there. Several years ago my step-daughter gave me one--it has an arrow shaped wooden bracket that sticks out, & on the bracket are 2 hooks, off of which you can hang a variety of seasonal decorations. She's given me a reindeer for wintertime, a flag for the 4th of July, etc. Well, she also gave me a star-shaped bird house for the summer, which is truly meant to be more decorative than functional! Last year a pair of Chickadee's commandeered it for their home, & they're back again this year. But this year when I hung it, I hung it so the hole faces our picture window so that I can watch them going in and out. One of the pair spent a heck of a lot of time pecking at the opening to make it larger--sort of ruins the decorative look, but it's for a good cause! So today I spent time behind the camera taking pictures of all their comings & goings--I think they chose a perfect site, as the feeder's only a couple of feet away, & I cleaned & re-filled the bird bath so they'd have fresh water--all the comforts of home, & hopefully down the line I'll get to see some baby chickadees!   :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.