Drips and drops

I went out to the Red Barn Cafe for brunch this morning.  No surprises there, I usually do if I'm home on a Saturday.

When I arrived the proprietor told me about some unusual fungi and took me to show them to me - she's great at spotting things for me to photograph out there.

The fungi were unusual, and I did photograph them, but I also got sidetracked by the rain/dew on the hair fine filaments that grown on the trunks of beech trees.  I believe it is some sort of fungus.  In summer the tips secrete a nectar that wasps feed on, so it pays not to get too close!  But today there were  no wasps about (maybe because it was a cold, grey winter morning).

The green under and behind is the thick moss that is also growing on this trunk.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.