Coming Home - 1865

Dear Diary,

I have been the curator of exhibitions at our local historical society for 16 years.  This year the theme of our exhibit, which marks the 150th anniversary of the end of the Civil War, looks at the aftermath of the war and the way it effected Maine.  We are fortunate that our vice-president is a collector of Civil War artifacts which augmented our own pieces.  I created a 1865 parlor (you can see a window view of a local road and a union soldier walking home in my extra photo) and displays on Mathew Brady, Lincoln's assassination and union soldiers artifacts.

I've really enjoyed putting these shows together each year.  My love of history was my primary motivation for joining the society 17 years ago.  Bringing history to life in an entertaining and educational way is a passion of mine at the society's History House.  Local school children will visit next week with their teacher and watching them get excited about learning about their local history is always a joy.  I write the blog for the society as well and it's title sums up our philosophy...LOCAL HISTORY MATTERS!

ps.  One of my extra photos today shows a robin's nest in a wreath by the door of History House.  Nearly every year Moma Robin builds a nest on the porch and all our coming and going doesn't seem to unsettle her!  It seems I will be able to see baby robins this year after all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.