Gretna pavement poppy

The 100th anniversary of the Quintinshill rail disaster was on 22nd May while we were away on holiday. I have had an interest in the history of the disaster for some time, not least because the memorial to the dead is in Rosebank Cemetery, which is not far from where I live.

A series of pavement poppies was created by Leith school children as part of the recent commemorations. Each one has the name of a soldier who died. Many of the soldiers shared the same first name, as can be seen from the roll of casualties, but there was only one Lister.

When I came home from my walk I had a quick look to see if I could find out anything more about him. He came from Bathgate and he was just 17 years old when he perished in the fire.

Apart from our little walk out to photograph the poppy and have another look at the memorial in the cemetery this afternoon, I have spent most of the day writing.

Exercise today: 6052 steps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.