DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

Heady days of Youth

So another dull & dreary day in the northwest and my mission today was to find a happy blip to make up for yesterday's sombre one.

This may not inspire happiness in anyone else and indeed took me by surprise, but walking into this rather mundane place today evoked such happy memories from my formative years.
The humid, chlorinated air is still a warm welcome upon entering the building and takes me back to swimming lessons as a child. The swimming was a means to an end as the highlight was always the chips and gravy afterwards!
In my teenage years, this was also the place for the Friday night disco; everyone would queue to get their hand stamped which thus allowed free reign between the disco & the cafe. Not to mention the balcony which was the scene for many a snog.
Happy days indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.