pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

How they've grown!

Well, I slept a bit in Jon's 2 man tent - I woke a lot. I love camping but am notoriously cold at night, so even sleeping fully dressed, which i did, didn't change that. I managed to drag my camp blanket (see my extra photo) over me part way through the night, but it wasn't the most comfortable.

Anyway, it was good to spend time with Jon. I left the happy campers to their survival weekend and headed to Wandlebury at 10.30, picking up a sack of corn, and a sack of layers pellets from the farm shop on my way.

Amazingly the kids were all up when I got back. We spent time packing a variety of boxes, and I crammed loads into the car. I then took Henry into Linton with his guitar and amp, to practice with his old Linton gang for a musical afternoon in Linton on 20th June. It was also great that he had time to chill out with his old friends; when I dropped him off they all seemed pleased to see him!

I nipped home to pack up a bit more boxes, roast a huge piece of pork for dinner, and advertise a few garden toys on Linton buying, selling & wanted. We will have more things we will need to sell, but it is difficult while Jon Dan & Moll are still there and needing things. But we do have a practically new (one year old) upright under the counter freezer spare for a reasonable cost if anyone is interested...as well as the enormous trampoline & climbing frame. I don't want to leave anything behind!

Once home with Henry, I dragged Daniel out of his room for a photo with their 'height wall' - something we can't take with us! Much is faded although we did make out some dates, 2009, 2011, 2014. When we moved in, Henry was minus 6 months (We moved Jan 2002 he was born in the June) Daniel was 6 and Mollie 4. They have had an amazing childhood here. They will realise that when they are older, and we all certainly have many happy memories.

Once I got dinner out it was nearly 6 o'clock. I had hoped Jon would be home to enjoy it with us, but the weekend camp took longer to clear up after than he had expected. I hung around until he got back then set off at 6.30 for our long drive back. I hate driving when I'm tired, and it is especially difficult as my driver window is broken so I can't open it for that breeze that helps to keep you awake. I stopped half way and had a walk about to wake myself up. 

We got back at 8.30 and unloaded the car. It now all sits piled up on my lounge floor. It will probably be Wednesday before I have the energy to do anything with it....but it's only us who sees it, so I'm not worried! Now it's time for bed. A proper bed, with a mattress, sheets and a pillow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.