Graduation in Norwich

A sunny day for celebrations and from my window I noticed the gowns and mortar boards were out en masse by St Andrews Hall for NUA graduation. At lunchtime, I took a walk down to the river where proud parents and grown up offspring were posing happily with the backdrop of willow, old buildings, and people, to preserve their special moment in print (or digital image). I hope to be one of those proud parents in a couple of years time, doing the same in Coventry. The weather really does make a difference on these occasions. So lucky it wasn't last week!

After passing these revellers I walked down to the fabric shop in Magdalen Street (the one outside which a stabbing occurred just a week or so back!). I drooled (metaphorically speaking) over the rolls and rolls of fabric, draped, folded and hung up in a kind of 'come and buy me' fashion. I bet they love the sewing bee. I didn't buy any, as I don't have a pattern in mind, but after sourcing a pattern, and after pay day, I will buy. I still fancy having a go at a bra, like they made last week, and that wont be much material at all!

I cleared lots of work and left at 4 with a proper long list of things to do at home. The idea is I focus and don't get side tracked. What a treat to be home by 5. Jon was home at 5.45 and we sat in the garden together with a cup of tea and swapped news of the last 2 days here and in Cambridge. Then I started weeding while Jon did the dinner. With a brief break to eat at 7 I finished at 8, and then we went for a long walk around the village with the dogs.

I am now going to have a dig about in the bottom of a fabric bag to find my patterns. And then I may sew together one of the bags I've had cut out for ages....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.