Road closed -Train crossing Sheringham High Street

At work today, my head ached, all day. But this evening it hasn't been as bad. Henry and I on our own tonight. He had washed up, and dinner was almost ready by the time I got in at 5.40. That deserved a reward I thought, so at 7 we drove in to Sheringham.

It was a calm evening, but not cold. No sunset to photograph, but we hadn't gone to take photos (even though I had my camera with me, as you see). We were there for a clotted cream ice cream. It is the best. So two of those and we walked around the little back streets in a circle until we'd eaten them.

From there we headed to the arcades, where we spent a whole hour playing on 2p machines. We won two foreign coins and a 1954 halfpenny! We checked every single 2p we put in, for a special one that is rare. We didn't find it. Much fun had by both of us though! 

One the way back up the high street to our car, there were these orange fences beside the road, with railway staff hovering. They were waiting for this big steam train with it's carriages to come through, probably brought along the main line from Norwich or beyond. I don't know, but it has only been possible in relatively recent years for them to do this. They linked the rail from the main line to the Poppy Line a little while ago, and now trains don't need to be brought by lorry for special occasions. I don't know if this one is special - but aren't all steam trains special really? They evoke the past, and as it pulled up with a huge whoosh of steam and slow chug of the wheels pulling through, I remember another reason why I like it here.

Back home for 8.45 and i quickly took Bracken out. Then a bit of gardening until it was too dark to see. Made my salad for tomorrow and have just sat down, about in time for bed. Yes, I know I've probably done too much. But too much needed doing. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.