weewilkie

By weewilkie

the slow weight through my healing bone

My stance is no good even though I'm taking the weight through my bad leg better. When I lift my good foot I lurch, I buckle, I flap like a fledgling panicking for air to lift me until I alight back onto the terra firma of the good leg. It's my hips that are lacking my physio tells me, the muscles are flaccid and listing like a galleon in open water in high pressure.

But I go out. This afternoon I went a walk to lift some money from the hole in the wall down at the shops. It was a long slow journey and all the better for it.

A David Lynch film that divided fans but I loved was The Straight Story. There is no unsettling undercurrent of the unconscious, no sharp shock imagery, just an old man going to see his sick brother who lives a distance away. He makes this journey by motorised lawnmower and of course travels at grass cutting speed. Slowly and surely cutting through each slow moment to the next.
Well, that's what my walk was today. A simple step outdoors for cash that I had to take slowly checking and straightening my stance as I gathered clicks to my destination. This is perfect when there is a camera in your pocket. You notice, you feel, you look, you see, you stop. I was quite happy clicking moment by checking my stance moment.
So here are a few clicks on the camera I took from my clicks on the crutches. It felt that I was meeting the day half way rather than the day imposing its strictures upon me. I even got some extras.

So today I didn't go out like a possessive dug with its bone. I went out slowly with my head raised. People passed, I let people pass. The runners, joggers, chatters, pram-inators, and fellow clickers. It was all just as it is, and I moved my way through it all remembering where my hips should be and my back should be and the force of the weight of the moment entering at the crush just below my knee cap. Then I took the weight back onto my good leg. And on. And click. And the sun, the wind, the cars and the people all more deeply imprinted there because of the slow weight through my healing bone.

Onwards. Slowly, perfectly onwards !!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.