Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Going on an expotition

I planned a short circular walk from Gunnerton this afternoon.  The meadow flowers are superb and the sun was shining.  After a walk across a rape field, I found the footpath I wanted by a stream.  It looked very overgrown and, for a while, it was a delight to wade through the Queen Anne's Lace, crosswort, pignut and red campion.

Then I faced thickets of snowberry.  I tried hard to find a way, but ended up back at a gate I'd already come through, with my sense of direction shot to pieces. (This reminded me of Pooh and the woozle hunt althought the quote is from the Expedition to the North Pole with Christopher Robin.)  I made 3 attempts and had to give up and find another route.

Today's image is a patch of crosswort peppered with Germander speedwell.  Yellow and blue complement each other so well.

Tonight, Liz, Nick, Julie, Mum and I went to see London Road with the post show discussion. What a fascinating piece of work. I loved it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.