Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

How very English!

Started today with supermarket shop first thing.

Took Margret to Sunderland for her eye appointment at the Eye Infirmary there.  Briefly succumbed to car park rage when someone drove into the space I was waiting for....... sigh.

Visited Pauline for half an hour while Margret was at clinic.  Danni's baby is overdue now. Her home delivery will be scuppered if she has to be induced.

Then to Slimming World in Hexham.  It's fascinating to watch the group and gradually work out which people (we were all women bar 2 men tonight) hold the power/are in the in crowd/ etc.  I tried to make conversation with some people and I'm sure it will get easier with time. People are already in friendship groups.

It was a taster session where we all took along food to be sampled. I'd made lovely fresh fruit kebabs, but they were almost entirely shunned in favour of chocolates, cakes, puddings, pates and so on.  When we were told we could eat, there was a huge surge of people towards the table. 

The good news is that I lost 4lb this week. Beginner's luck no doubt and not a rate of loss I would wish to maintain.  Pleased? You bet!

After the session I called into the park near the Abbey because the men were bowling. My maternal grandfather was a keen bowler and was very proud of his woods. He maintained them with great care. I liked the evening light and the gentle nature of the game.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.