Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Multiplying as we speak!

The main bridge into Hexham from the A69 is closed for the next 6 weeks, so road works and diversions are on everybody's minds right now. When I saw that someone was digging up the road outside our village pub, I sighed, until I realised that this is part of the scarecrow trail. (See yesterday's blip.)

Carla was missing this morning, having been out from late afternoon and overnight. I wasn't too keen to go off without finding her and I had a lot to catch up on, so I abandoned going for the Wednesday walk. Of course, she just strolled in at about 10 a.m. as if nothing had happened.

This afternoon I took Mum for a drive around the village to see the scarecrows and I photographed nearly all of them for posterity. Tina, our bat expert, has a large bat scarecrow hanging from a street light. One woman is vacuuming her lawn. An owl is holding up a bird feeder, complete with fat balls.

Outside the surgery, a doctor and nurse are eating their lunch. They have very healthy food in their lunch boxes. A traffic police man is sitting on the corner of the green, ready to catch speeding motorists.

I seriously wondered if I could fit in making a scarecrow, but I fear the time will defeat me.

We went to see Hamlet at the cinema tonight. It was an experimental production using a lot of African drumming. We agreed that parts of the production were excellent, but overall it was not coherent or convincing. We also found the level of expressed emotion to be very high throughout. I always think it is better if there are contrasts.

The death of Polonius was a comic turn and the audience laughed very loudly.  Did the director intend this?

Time for bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.