Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

There can be only one topic today

Yes, it's the General Election in the UK. It feels even more important than ever.

The Guardian has set up a website to help people know if tactical voting might help to defeat the Conservatives in your constituency. At the last election, our votes were more than 50% for the Tories. That means we can do nothing to prevent a Tory win.

Our MP is a good chap who has been an excellent constituency MP, although being placed in the Whips' Office has not helped him in his role. However, I can't agree with his politics.

I met a couple I know as I walked through the village. He pointed out that his jacket was blue as he headed to vote. He wondered if my fleece and waterproof (bright red) might have any significance. "Yes" I said, " I wore them deliberately!"

At the village hall, someone had left a bright blue comb on the seat outside. I think that's the way the wind is blowing.

I've packed and I'm more or less ready for Stepping Stones Festival with Maddy Prior.  I have to report for duty at 0900 tomorrow morning at Kirklinton. I have a couple of batteries left to charge and my wellingtons to put in the car.............then I think I'm ready for the off.

I may not have internet over the weekend.  See you on Sunday.

In the extra, see how well the tiny Lumix camera coped with a close up of a clematis. It's climbing up the yew at the front wall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.