Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Stepping Stones Festival 2017

Last year I had a few hours at the Stepping Stones Music Festival because the Hadrian Singers were there. I went along to photograph them. I took quite a few photos and sent them to the organisers. They used some in their publicity and asked if I might like to go along this year, but for the whole festival. My task was to photograph people enjoying themselves. What a gift.

This morning, the stewards gathered in Kirklinton Hall for a briefing from Tim, who is in charge. Here they are,  most with their high vis jackets, ready for action. In about 3 hours they had transformed the site, so that car parking and a camping field was ready for the campers, numerous gazebos were erected for the children's activities, a huge number of chairs wer all washed and put in rows in the main marquee, etc., etc., etc. I followed them around with my cameras. It was a lot of fun, although I was glad I was not doing the heavy lifting.

After all the heavy work, it was time to hang the bunting and be ready to welcome the first campers with a smile.

What a great crowd and I'm thrilled to be part of it all.

The first bands were on tonight. The extra shows the musicians and team of BOC Mallorca who were the headline act tonight. I have to confess that I found their music very noisy and samey, so I retreated to my B & B before the concert ended. What a great first day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.