Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Ben Gates and his Sound Sculptures

Day 2 of the Stepping Stones Festival dawned to torrential rain. So we donned our waterproofs and wellies and made the best of it. By mid morning the rain was only drizzle and then the sun came out.

Here is Ben Gates with one of his sound sculputures. There were several of these on the lawn and they were enjoyed equally by children and adults. He uses the pentatonic scale, so the sounds were very comfortable to hear, however they were played!

I spent the whole day walking from one part of the site to another, capturing images as I went. The atmosphere was very friendly and people were happy to be photographed. There is a hat competition every day, but I decided to give you a set of ears instead. (I'd even bought a daisy chain to wear by the end of the festival!)

The headline act tonight was the Oyster Band. I've been on a steep learning curve, because I have little knowledge of this sort of music. The Oysters are quite senior citizens now, but what energy and what musicianship they displayed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.