Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Happy Birthday

I had resolved not to post more images of scarecrows, although yet more imaginative ones have popped up since 2 days ago. However, I thought that I must post this one of the Queen on the day when the official celebrations start.

It's been a cloudy, muggy day. I took Mum to Hexham - to the tip. No, don't get me wrong, I had cardboard boxes and an old TV to dispose of. Then I took her to the hairdresser's for a chop and set.  I went to M & S and bought new teeshirts (hasn't the quality deteriorated) and new trousers for my holiday. (Good excuse.)

This afternoon I walked around the village to document all the scarecrows with my camera. There is now a cricketer (90 runs not out), a Hadrian's Wall walker (complete with rucksack and map), a pirate (who has captured a mermaid I'm sorry to say) and two dead looking bodies on the back of a pick up truck.

The latter were going to be erected in the centre of the village, but a small child, about 3 years old, was insisting that they were put up in the playing field. Her grandparents were having problems persuading her that this was not a good idea!! I left them to it.

Tonight I'm going to Otterburn with Margret to hear a talk about old roads.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.