Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

A New Creative Space

For many, many months now, possibly even years, I've been lugging around a few ideas in my head for several new product designs. I've always thought that at least two of these items would be marketable, but I had no clue how to bring the ideas to fruition. Where would I find the materials, how could I develop a prototype?

Enter, The Foundry. 

About nine months ago, this new "makerspace" opened in Bellingham. Today, I ventured into The Foundry Makerspace and had a lovely and very inspiring conversation with Mary Keane who is one of the founders and owners. I had loads of questions for her and she happily indulged me with answers and a tour of the facility and all the equipment and services offered. 

In a nutshell, The Foundry is a community workspace where cutting edge tools and technology are available for use by members along with support and guidance in using them and developing one's ideas. It is exactly what I need to develop my plans and hopefully create a few prototypes. The cost for use of ALL their equipment, including modeling software, lasers, drills, lathes, planers, and a myriad of very, very cool 3D printers such as the Ultimaker pictured above, is a mere $50 per month. This membership includes support and instruction and advice on all phases of your project. I intend to join and look forward to immersing myself in this creative space.

Be sure to view today's "extra photo" -- a guitar printed from a 3D printer! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.