pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Self sufficient?

Well, getting there anyway.

Today was my last day with the opportunity to get in early, so I was away by 7.10 and just caught the 7.45. Thankfully the school bus has been on time too this week.

At lunchtime I took a walk up st Benedict Street - the opposite direction to yesterday. There I passed 3 blue plaques without even having to look for them, plus Strangers Hall - a museum that had been recommended to me. I'm looking forward to going back there with Henry & anyone else who fancies it! I headed on up the road past the bead shop (I didn't go in, but I hovered at the entrance) and at the far end. I stumbled upon part of the original city wall. The picture I took wasn't great so didn't make the blip! Following my map I came back via Coppergate. I've heard that isn't such a nice area to hang about, although there were some quaint cottages nestled behind the main part of the city, that you really wouldn't know are there. The road took me back into The Lanes area of Norwich, and straight back to work.

Home at 5.45 I was pleased to see my hens have trampled loads of the weeds down. I will soon be able to see my little pond.

For tea I made myself a salad with home grown rocket and these lovely radishes. I think they symbolise more than just a few little vegetables. They were tiny seeds, sown only a few weeks ago, and in that short time they've grown & matured. They show how it doesn't take long to go from nothing to something. That's what we've done here. I'm feeling quite proud of us. All because I've grown a few radishes!!!

My evening is my own. I may do some tidying. But I probably won't.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.