pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Pull's Ferry

Felt less tired today, which was good because I had so much to do (in my head)

Got to work early. Did everything I could do, hopefully without too many mistakes, and at lunchtime set out to explore. I set off towards Prince of Wales road, walking all the way down to the river. There I spotted the railway station on the other side of the river. I haven't driven round this part of Norwich, let alone walked it, so this was a first for me.

I dropped down in front of a pub onto a riverside walkway. I could only think of my walks by the river Cam in Cambridge, often with Clive, an old work colleagues, at lunchtimes. So it brought back bitter sweet memories. It is so similar. Cutting through at the end of this walkway I arrived at Pull's Ferry. Some of my new colleagues had asked previously if i'd been to 'Pull's Ferry' yet, and I really didn't know what or where they were referring to. It is now a private residence, but was once the main ferry crossing across the river Wensum, run by the ferry man Mr Pull. That is all I can remember for now, but I will read up on it!

From here I walked up Recorder Road I think it was called, past a cricket ground and then arrived at the cathedral, where I went up to see how the peregrines were doing. It was lovely to hear that 2 chicks fledged this morning, and were sitting on a ledge together, getting ready for a bit of flying practice!

I was back in the office in time (that was a 40 minute round trip including the viewing of the chicks).

I was home relatively early at about 5.30 and after dinner, was keen to get outside. I cleaned out the chicken house and moved it to a better position. Then I moved the temporary fence to incorporate more of my garden. The jungly bit with lots of weeds, wild geranium and my small pond, which is almost invisible now. I'm hoping they will eat the weeds! They seem very happy anyway.

Then I transplanted some peas into 3 separate pots, planted out my French beans, & also planted my sweet corn into a giant tub. It's new for me to be growing everything in pots - it's a kind of above ground veg patch!

Mum kindly did all my washing today. They have been a big support for me & are going back home tomorrow after they've ensured Henry is on his bus.

I've finished my day by collecting the washing in. I'm now going to relax with a well earned cup if tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.