Desperately seeking

By clickychick

RIP

Rest in Peace Dougie (25th June, 1949 - 4th June, 2015)

Some of you will remember reading on Saturday how saddened I was about the death of my ex-husband. Today was his funeral. I wanted to attend but felt apprehensive about how I would fit in, especially when another Blipper shared a link to the Limousin Breeder's Facebook page and I saw how may views and "likes" the wonderful write-up was given. I thought: This is going to be HUGE!

The funeral service and burial took place at a tiny church. The family and close friends went into the church but by the time I arrived a neighbouring field was full of cars and the churchyard was full of mourners. I took my place, close to the prepared grave and found it difficult to hold back the tears as we waited for the hearse.

The service was relayed to us outside, there were hundreds of us! I couldn't see anyone I knew outside. When the service was over I met up with our Best Man and his sister who recognised me instantly (I hadn't changed! See my backdated blip for proof!) I chatted to Dougie's sisters until I was at the front of the line. I didn't know what Dougie's wife and children would think of me being there but they were pleased to see me and had hoped I would come and encouraged me to stay for the food and refreshments at the daughter's pub. I settled in as I was made to feel very welcome.

I always wondered when would be appropriate to add my first wedding photo to my series "Life Before Blip" tonight seemed the time to do it. See the link , if you wish. For today's blip I have used the Order of Service booklet against a photo I took of a limousin which was on a card I sent to Dougie when he became ill last year.

My thoughts remain with his wife, children and grandchildren. A premature end to a good live.

Now the end of a very unreal day. Still feeling stunned, but better for having talked things over with everyone. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.