In My World

By JoanneInOz

Ibis in the Rain.

'Twas a dismal old day beside the river Tweed this morning, but I still took myself to Murwillumbah to meet up with my niece, who was there for the day. We hadn't seen each other for four or five years, since she moved away from the area, yet we met and talked together as if we had only visited yesterday. Jen is like my younger sister, and always has been, perhaps because she is closer in age to me than my sister, Jen's mother, was.

Jen's two youngest children were with her, now 15 and 18 years of age, and I enjoyed seeing them again, so much more grown up than the last time I saw them, and now, as a result of their own life's experiences, able to appreciate the family bond, the blood-tie that never leaves us, the invisible, intangible tie that will connect us for all of time.

I'd also like to say a huge thank you to everyone who joined in yesterday with the very special Flower Friday tribute to Alma, mum of Biker Bear, Anni. Over one hundred blippers added tributes to their journals, and as Anni wrote in her own entry, "Mum - I love and miss you so very much.
You would have been so taken aback by all the wonderful tributes, words and flower photos that have been posted in your honour today - but you deserve every single one of them - and more."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.