Remembering Teaching

Dear Diary,

I was talking with a friend yesterday who is a middle school art teacher.  She will be leaving the profession in a couple of weeks and it got me very nostalgic about my 35 years as an art teacher.  On one of the old memory cards I discovered awhile back were photographs of the last student art exhibition I did in 2010, the year I retired.

Teaching was much more than a job to me, it was a passion. Right up to my final day 5 years ago I loved every minute of it.  Doing the annual art exhibition was a way to look back over the year and see all that my students had achieved.  I did the usual drawing and painting projects but I loved 3-D projects especially ones with an architectural element.  Seeing this old image brought back waves of memory.

As much as I loved my career as an art teacher I also love my new career as a retired art teacher!  I'm off this afternoon to do a presentation on creating digital scrapbooks of your family stories.  I guess once a teacher always a teacher!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.