Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Digitalis

I was just saying to ceridwen yesterday that our foxgloves are not out yet.  Today I had one quick potter in the garden in between the boring business of resting Aggie, and there was the first open flower.

This is a focus stack of 7 images, hand held.  If you check ceridwen's blip from yesterday you can read all about the structure of the flower.

My medical interest is in the digitalis content of the plant. I wonder how anyone discovered that this helped cardiac arrhythmia?  Amazing.

Otherwise, it's been a grey day for weather and I've watched Alec Guiness as George Smiley in Smiley's People  on TV.  I watched episode after episode as if it was a box set!  Some great acting and the spies were much less frenetic then than in modern depictions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.