Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The wedding present

This is not my best photograph ever (!) but I like the story that goes with it. I was at St Oswald's Tearoom at Heavenfield today for a meeting with my friend Richard about our First Aid training. A plan was hatched and agreed very happily.

John, the farmer, had been shearing  a few sheep while I was drinking tea. I was too late to photograph the action, but had a chat afterwards. He'd been shearing the sheep for a neighbour (pictured). She told me that one of these sheep was a wedding present to her as a lamb. The other two are the sheep's daughters who had given birth this year, so there are now 3 generations.

Sheep don't look very bonny when they have been shorn, but I think her smile tells you how she feels about them.

Otherwise I'm been resting Aggie who has been painfree until this evening. I think that augers well.

Oh yes, a nice young man came to try to sell me new windows. I was very straight with him about the fact that I would not commit to buy today. That's not how the script is supposed to go, but I want to think it all over first.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.