Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Stepping Stones Music Festival

It was raining this morning and rather grey. I was up and out early because I had a place on a coach from Haltwhistle to Kirklinton House for the Stepping Stones Music Festival. My friends, the Hadrian Singers of Haltwhistle, were performing and Maureen asked if I would like to go along.

This was my first folk festival. It is a small and delightful affair, with lots of families camping for the weekend in the grounds of the ruined Kirklinton House. There were a lot of middle aged folk - like me - but they were regulars on the folk festival scene.

As I drove to Haltwhistle the rain stopped. The countryside is so very green just now and the trees are in full leaf. The hawthorn blossom is just beginning to go over, but there is a lot of frothy white in the hedgrows.

The drive was the start of a lovely day out.

It was soon sunny in the west, so I was encumbered with waterproof coat, trousers and fleece all day! Not complaining because it was great.

The Hadrian Singers performed very well. They have improved by leaps and bounds under the baton on Bridie Jackson. (She was on the main stage later in the day as Bridie Jackson and the Arbour.)  The voices now blend well, the balance is good and more singers are watching Bridie more of the time.

On the lawn in front of the house, a series of large instruments were laid out. When we arrived Wendy (pictured) and I went to check these out. Such fun. I chose this image of Wendy because she is concentrating so hard on making music with this xylophone of milk churns (?) She beat Maddy Prior and Steel Eye Span to the Blip spot!!

It's been a brilliant weekend.

Thank you all for your comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's ram. He has hit the popular pages, something rare for me, so I'm very grateful and glad you like him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.