Como, Piazza San Fedele

I have just noticed I had a gap in my daily uploads. This is a while ago now, and I forget if we went to Como due to poor weather. If so it certainly looks as though the weather improved in the course of the day.

We had intended to go to Como by boat, but I had misread the timetable so we took the bus instead. Unfortunately the bus was almost full and we were unable to get a seat at first. While standing I was starting to suffer from motion sickness, but fortunately somebody seated next to me got off the bus and I was able to sit down. I am usually OK as long as I face in the direction of travel.

We had lunch in Piazza San Fedele where there are several very old buildings as well as the church shown here.

In the afternoon we thought we would get a slow boat back to Lenno. It is a pleasant way to travel and enjoy the view. In the crush of people at the ferry terminal in Como we found we had inadvertently bought tickets for the hydrofoil. This is the fastest means of transport and is easily quicker than the bus. Although the widows are large it is travelling at some speed and so does not offer the same opportunities for enjoying the landscape. It is also totally enclosed, but at least it is air conditioned and the seats are comfortable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.